Migration of Add2Exchange from Exchange 2003,2007,2010 to Exchange 2013

If you are doing public to private replication, the public folder is not available in 2013 until the last account is migrated off of prior exchange, including the Add2Exchange Service Account. If doing a "swing migration" - or all accounts and folders at once time, it is a fairly straightforward process because in a swing migration, everyone is migrated at the same time.  If doing a "stepped migration" - or a few users at a time with replication desired on both sides, it is a bit more involved.

To do a Swing Migration, follow these steps:

  • Stop the Add2Exchange Service and put on manual.
  • Migrate everyone over to Exchange 2013 (swing them over at once),
  • Having migrated the Add2Exchange service account, and the Public Folders, run the Preinstaller on the new 2013 Exchange Server - specifying the account already exists whereby giving the Add2Exchange service account permissions to the new server
  • Uninstall the older Add2Exchange, update to the latest and during installation specify it is an Exchange 2013 installation.
  • Log in as the Service account to the replication server, open the Add2Exchange Console then login with password for the A2E service account, and submit for a new License Transfer Request.  Close the Add2Exchange Console.
  • Download and run the Recovery and Migration Manger tool and let it "fix the migrated relationships". 
  • Apply the changes and close the Recovery and Migration Manager Tool.
  • Set to Delayed start and Start the Add2Exchange Service.
  • If you are going to move where Add2Exchange is being run from, a simple server migration can be done now.

To do a Stepped Exchange 2013 Migration - a few users at a time - from Exchange 2003, 2007 or 2010, there are several methods.

  • Create a new replication server and account for Exchange 2013 -
  • This option allows for replication of the older Exchange environment up until the day you migrate the mailboxes, when you would remove the relationships or memberships in distribution groups to DE replicate the older data and then migrate the mailboxes, and then add to new distribution groups and templates in the 2013 environment.  This may be necessary for those running public to private or private to public relationships or Gal Sync.
  • Create a new replication server, 2008R2 or 2012, 4 gigs of ram, no Outlook, fully patched, UAC off and rebooted and the service account as part of local administrators of that box
  • Download the Full Add2Exchange Setup and Recovery and Migration Manager Tool.
  • Create a new Add2Exchange2013 service account in Exchange 2013 putting the account in a Service Account Container. 
  • Run the Preinstaller on the new 2013 Exchange Server - specifying the account already exists whereby giving the Add2Exchange service account permissions to the new server. 
  • Give local Administrator permissions to the A2E Service Account to any Exchange 2013 Servers Cas, hubs, DR, etc.
  • Copy the contents of the existing Public Folders into a new service or resource mailbox to be used in 2013 Synchronization, or if GAL Sync, we will recreate the data automatically when we make the Relationship.
  • Log on as the Add2Exchange service account
  • Install CDO Mapi from Preinstaller directory, if asked to upgrade, or not asked for EULA, uninstall and reinstall newer version.
  • Install the Full version of Add2Exchange, during installation specify it is an Exchange 2013 installation and let it create the local SQL database.  When the Add2Exchange Console opens, if prompted, login with password for the A2E service account, and submit for a new License Transfer Request. 
  • Create a new Distribution Group in Exchange 2013 for the new Template, something like Zpubcalsync or zgalsync2013 and add any members you have ALREADY MIGRATED.  If you have not migrated any users, then add at least the service account to the new group.  Create the Templates to the new folders and attach to the distribution group you created. 
  • Stepped migration process:  First, open the Add2Exchange Console and export the setup from the Help menu to make record of the relationships before the migration.  Save this file and consider copying over to the new server desktop.
  • BEFORE you migrate users, open the pre Ex2013 (or the older A2E) Add2Exchagne Console, and select to delete and remove any single relationships from the older system.  If you are using the Template system of the Enterprise Edition Relationship group manager, note the distribution list you are attached to and remove all those members from the distribution list in Exchange 20xx.  
  •  
  • Enterprise Edition only:  If you are using the templating system, open up the A2E Console and select from the top drop down, Services Utility and make sure Relman is on and set to some non zero number such as 1 day.  Also make sure the folder sync for your type of sync is on, such as Calendars and/or Contacts, etc.
  • Close the A2E Console and start the Add2Exchange Service. Monitor the logs for success audits for both those folder types. 
  • When there is a success audit for that last folder type, it should have DE replicated those users.  Verify.  If successful, you put the Add2Exchange Service on manual and migrate those users. 
  • When those users are completed migrating, you can add them to the new Exchange 2013 distribution list(s) and they will rereplicate. 
  • Note in this procedure, there are now two source folders which must be updated during the length of the stepped migration. 
  • Clean-up -
  • Set the Add2Exchange Service on Delayed start and Start the Add2Exchange Service.
  • Download and install the Recovery and Migration Manger tool to assist with further relationship alerts if necessary.
  • Put that server on Download and notify for updates
  • Exclude locations from antiviral scans as specified in the manual under Post installation steps.
  • When doing MS critical updates on this box stop the Add2Exchange Service and apply and reboot.

If you have already migrated users to Exchange 2013, depending on your situation, some variation of this must be performed. 

  • If you already migrated mailboxes, recreating the relationship will create duplicates since the mailbox was migrated with data from the older system.  Sometimes depending on the relationships, and if not replicating to default folders, these new relationships can be set to new folders and the older folders can be removed or recreated for Exchange 2013
  • Sometimes the data can be "stale" in the 2013 migrated user’s mailboxes during the migration.
  • If constant replication is not needed during the Exchange 2013 migration, it is possible to let them error until the full migration occurs and then "recover" the relationships" en mass with the Recovery and Migration Manager tool after the full migration. 
  • Another option is the old replicated data can be removed either with the Toolkit or Toolbox afterwards, but this can be a tedious process.  This surgical way allows the users to have the data during the migration (as is the case if you are initiating this clean up after a partial or full migration has already happened).  Again, this is only possible if current replication doesn’t need to occur during the migration, and then a clean-up by "onesy-twosy" can be done with the tools.  This is ideal for a very few number of relationships, and is usually not feasible with hundreds or thousands of relationships.    In the many relationship scenarios, a "mass clean up" with a process we call the "Start over" may be most beneficial. 

To get a customized plan for your situation, please Contact Technical support for detailed remote assistance under our Premier Support Agreements.
 

 

 

 

Live Help for Exchange Sync