If Add2Exchange was working and now it's not, post here.

9/26/2011 1:15:21 PM
Gravatar
Total Posts 158

How to remove a user from AD with Active A2E Relationships

When you are tempted or in need to delete a user FROM AD with an active A2E relationship, please log on and remove the relationships first before you hide them from the GAL or delete the mailbox and decide if you want the destination items to remain in each of the destinations. 

Doing this will allow for the proper cleanup of the folders and the A2E database. 

Often for calendar relationships, when deleting a relationship, the items for that private to public relationship are kept in a public folder, (or the manager folder) just for information purposes only.  They will not replicate again since the source is about to be deleted.

When deleting a private to private relationship, as was mentioned, you may want the items in some folders but not others.  If you don't care about the appointments, then select to remove. This desired effect may be different in your organization. 

If you delete the user without removing the relationship first, the source folder (or destination folder) will no longer be available for the cleanup

and the items will remain in the destinations as “orphan items”, or those which do not sync anymore.

STEPS

To remove a user, log in and change their password. Do not hide from the GAL

We suggest (for Add2Exchange Enterprise edition) remove all distribution group memberships so the Templating system will remove the destination items automatically if the template is assigned.

Log in to the replication server and open the Add2Exchange Console.

Delete all relationships to or from the user.  Specify whether you want the items left there as orphans.

Once all relationships to or from that user are deleted, close the Console and start the Add2Exchange service for it to dereplicate and clean up.

 

Tip:  If these are contact relationships to or from the user, do the same process above but ALWAYS select to remove destination items.  What will be left in the mailbox will be all original items.  If you wish those items to be replicated, after the complete sync where it dereplicated all copies to or from that user, you can inspect those remaining originals and select to move those desired items into a source folder for rereplication to other users or folders.