Bulletin ID A2E_231

Last Review 05/30/2013
Revision 1.0
Previous IDs None
Obsoletes None
—————— ————

Common Relationship Settings

First, let’s clarify some terms:
One way and two way relationships versus Unidirectional and bidirectional relationships

Every relationship is one way, copying items from source to destination.

Every relationship is configurable, and can be unidirectional in the way the information flows, where info from source is synced to the destination and if they change the destination, it will overwrite the changes from the source.  There are similar configuration options about deleting options, if they delete an item in the destination, the source will be recopied to the destination.  That is what we call a unidirectional relationship.

That same relationship can be bidirectional in information flows, where changes in the destination will be synced back to the source, and then out to other recipients of the source folder.  The deletion of  a destination can be set to bidirectional as well and cause the source item to be deleted.  This is a lot of power and should be used in certain cases.  Also, if a destination item is deleted, it can be set to not copy back.  It is completely up to you.

If you want items from the destination to go to the source, you simply make the reverse of the relationship and set those rules accordingly.


Unidirectional Relationship  - Info only flows one way
All updates on the destination copies are lost and overwritten from the source, all deletes of the destination copies are recopied from the source.
Conflict Resolution: Always Replace Item In Destination Folder
Delete Destination: ReCopy The Source Item
Delete Source: Delete Destination Item
Copied Resolution: Overwrite Changes

Bidirectional Relationships on edits – Recopy deletes - Changes flow back to source

All updates on the destination copies are synced back to the source and all deletes of the destination copies are recopied from the source.
Conflict Resolution: Always update Source Item
Copied Resolution: Synchronize Changes Back To Source Item
Delete Source: Delete Destination Item
Delete Destination: Recopy Source Item

Bidirectional Relationships on edits and Bidirectional on Deletes – Careful using this as one user can delete source items

All updates on the destination copies are synced back to the source and all deletes of destination copies delete the source items.
Conflict Resolution: Always update Source Item
Copied Resolution: Synchronize Changes Back To Source Item
Delete Source: Delete Destination Item
Delete Destination: Delete Source Item

Other Examples:

See it in Pictures: Common Relationships

Partial Full Mesh of Relationships

Live Help for Exchange Sync