If this is your first time using Add2Exchange or you are upgrading or migrating, post here.
You could manually backup the installation of Add2Exchange by stopping the Add2Exchange Service, and the A2ESqlserver Service.
This tool will assist in stopping both in succession, first Add2Exchange and then our instance of SQL.
(C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenDoor Software®\Add2Exchange\Service Restart\Add2Exchange Service Stop.exe)
Copy the files under the \Database Directory to a new location:
By default, this is located in C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenDoor Software®\Add2Exchange\Database
It may be best to copy the entire directory and subdirectory contents, but the two files
A2E.mdf and A2E.log.ldf files are sufficient for the restore for any Enterprise installation.
If this is a Standard installation, it would be necessary to back up our Registry keys for the program as well.
This is located here:
or in a 32 bit system
A copy of all the automatic backups of the Registry is also saved on the workstation in the \Registry directory.
After the backup copy of files and registry, be sure to run the link to restart both the SQL Services and the Add2Exchange Service:
(C:\Program Files (x86)\OpenDoor Software®\Add2Exchange\Service Restart\Add2Exchange Service Start.exe)
Rarely does the replication server go down, you would install the software, detach the database, [Standard - import the registry] following these instructions:
For a smooth transition, we need the most recent copy of the database before the disaster, after any relationship changes and most recent sync for a smooth reconstruction in a disaster.
If the Add2Exchange machine is a VM, avoid reverting the replication server to a prior instance (unless it is also the Exchange server – and if you are doing that, you are in deep) because this event is similar to the restore of a database to an earlier version. If you are restoring Exchange to a snapshot before the Add2Exchange backup, we may not copy some items we think we already have. If you are restoring the Add2Exchange replication server to an earlier version, it may cause duplicates.
In the event of an Add2Exchange database restore, or system failure and reinstall of Add2Exchange, this "worst case" would involve a desync - which you can do from the Add2Exchange toolkit as a "start over" if you have the Add2Exchange database to restore.
This "desync" can also be done "surgically", or one folder at a time, with the Surgeon General and Add2Exchange Diags tools to blank the metadata database.
As a side note, using the Add2Exchange Toolkit to surgically delete items from folders without removing the metadata stored in the user properties table can result in relationship item deletion triggers activating. If you remove copies and leave the metadata in place, it would appear to the working system that the user deleted the copies, and if the relationship was set to delete sources if destination items are deleted, then it could potentially delete the source items.
In the Enterprise edition, at least backup the database after every relationship change or export the setup from the Console\Help option and save somewhere so we can reference the current relationships. If you backup our entire directory, the \Registry directory has backup copies of Add2Exchange Standard relationships. We would also caution about importing prior registry files into the registry. Email tech support prior, save what was there first, and track changes if tempted to fix it in this way (which would almost be never).
In Add2Exchange Standard, we store the relationships in the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\OpenDoor Software®
In Enterprise, we store the relationships in the database.
In a disaster, start here (http://support.diditbetter.com/support-request.aspx) but please don’t do anything in regards to Add2Exchange until you get a response. Our email support is free and initial conversation, and together we will find the simplest fix for your unique situation.